2020 Ditmar Award

It’s not deja vu, it’s last year’s trophy.

On Saturday 19 September, the Ditmar Awards were presented. These would ordinarily have been presented at the National Australian Speculative Fiction convention, but since no conventions took place this year, the ceremony was conducted online.

I was honoured to receive an award for Best Fan Writer. Thank you so much to everyone who voted for me. It was a delightful surprise in an otherwise difficult year.

This was my acceptance speech:

First, I’d like to thank the Down Under Fan Fund. Fan funds do such important work in connecting people and without DUFF I would not have met Paul Weimer, who was the delegate sent over from North America in 2017.

Paul introduced me to the Skiffy and Fanty Show, and was a fantastic role model through his own prolific reviews and sheer enthusiasm for SFF in all its forms. He, too, does a fantastic job of connecting people.

Thank you to Jen Zink for welcoming me as part of the Skiffy and Fanty team and for teaching me so much. Thanks also goes to Shaun Duke, whose insightful edits always invited me to think a little more deeply.

Lastly, thanks to everyone who voted for me. It’s an honour.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!

3 thoughts on “2020 Ditmar Award”

  1. Congratulations, Elizabeth, on receiving this well-deserved and wonderful honor. I’m so happy for you!

Comments are closed.