2021 Awards Eligibility

The end of the year means holiday madness, the last-minute panic to complete annual goals, and the beginning of a new awards season. So naturally, it’s time for my obligatory eligibility post.

Works I’ve Reviewed

My reviews this year have been fewer and less focused on local works this year, so a single list will suffice. All works below are eligible for the Hugo Awards, with additional eligibility noted.

A Desolation Called Peace by Arkady Martine
A Marvellous Light by Freya Marske (also eligible for the Ditmar Awards)
A Psalm for the Wild-built by Becky Chambers
Foxhunt by Rem Wigmore (also eligible for the Sir Julius Vogel Awards)
Theft of Sunlight by Intisar Khanani
Winter’s Orbit by Everina Maxwell

Work I’ve Created

These reviews mean I’m eligible for fan writing categories for both the Ditmar and Hugo Awards.

A Note on Awards

The Hugos are the international popularly-voted awards for SFF. Traditionally, they’re presented at Worldcon. In 2022 that will be held in Chicago, USA on 1-5 September.

The Ditmar Awards and the Sir Julius Vogel Awards are respectively the Australian and New Zealand equivalents of the Hugo Awards.

Of particular note, and unlike the Hugos and the Ditmars, nominators for the Sir Julius Vogel Awards do not have to have membership to any particular conventions or be of any particular nationality; the nominated work simply must be by a New Zealand creator. So, if you have read anything that fits the bill, I strongly encourage you to nominate it at the appropriate time.

Happy nominating, everyone! If you have recommendations, I’d love to hear them!